'Castle' Actor Jon Huertas Debuts 'Champion' Single; Album Due in June
Hear Huerta's new single, 'Champion' now. New album 'Grown & Sexy Music' due June 11.
Jon Huertas, who plays Detective Javier Esposito on ABC's popular TV series "Castle," will release his first full-length studio album, "Grown & Sexy Music," on June 11 through MidRats/Slydoggie Productions. "Champion," out April 9, is the second single from the project.
A mix of club dance tracks and R&B/pop, "Grown & Sexy Music" was co-produced and co-written by Huertas and Grammy-nominated songwriter/producer Christian Davis. Lead single "Ledge of Love," based on the love story between "Castle" lead characters Beckett and Castle, was released last November. A five-song EP titled Sex Tape (featuring a new version of earlier single "Sex Is the Word") and new single "Champion" were made available on April 2 exclusively on thejonhuertas.com.
Growing up in New York, Huertas appeared in various musical theater productions while in school. He also sang as part of a New Edition tribute group called Junior Edition. A veteran of the U.S. Military, Huertas later moved to Los Angeles and began concentrating on acting. In addition to "Castle" - for which he won an ALMA Award -his credits include the role of Sgt. Tony "Poke" Espera in the HBO miniseries "Generation Kill."
"Acting and singing have always gone hand in hand for me," explains Huertas, who says his love of music kicked in again two years ago. "I can now focus a lot more energy into this."
With that in mind, Huertas partnered with fellow military veterans Vic Manzano and Val Valdez to create indie label MidRats. "In the military," says Huertas, you have the never quit, never die mentality and that's what rats have too."
Teaming up with Davis through the latter's Slydoggie Productions, Huertas, whose musical influences include Prince, says his aim is to bring storytelling back to music. "I love complex vocal arrangements and music that tells a story," he says. "I want to tell clear, concise stories about journeys people can relate to and understand. I've experienced every situation on Grown & Sexy Music."
Huertas is shooting a video for "Champion"- about a guy fighting to get his girl back- this coming weekend.
Here is the track listing for Huerta's "Grown & Sexy Music":
1. "Champion"
2. "Video"
3. "Ledge of Love"
4. "Dance in the Dark"
5. "Silhouette Sexy"
6. "Wonder Girl"
7. "Bartender"
8. "Girlfriends"
9. "Like Bollywood"
10. "Knock Off"
11. "Closer to Love"